Fibromyalgia Awareness Day May 12

Fibromyalgia Awareness Day May 12

Fibromyalgia Awareness Day was this past Friday. Like a lot of other “invisible” illnesses, these days come and go without much fanfare. Those of us with the condition are more than aware of it. Every day I struggle to get out of bed and get moving. My job requires the use of my hands which are stiff and painful all night long. Despite medication, I get little relief. I struggle to sleep. Thursday my watch said I had one hour and three minutes. My anxiety kept me up all day. I often have to ask people to repeat what they say to me because I can’t understand it on the first go. I often to have to repeat things I said because I have no idea what the word salad that came out of my mouth was on the first go. At just 36 years of age, it’s killed my will to be social, date, speak up.

Nail polish is an easy escape for me since it doesn’t require much physical exertion. When I was recovering from foot surgery I discovered the world of indie nail polish brands and my love for it was rekindled. I’ve always loved it. I can remember doing my nails in elementary school.

But, despite there being this awareness day, I certainly don’t feel like it gets the support it needs. Below I have listed some sites for you to get information and possible make a donation to fund research into this condition.

I wouldn’t be surprised if anything I wrote even made sense. I’m in a state of “derp” from the pain and fatigue.

 

American Fibromyalgia Syndrome Assoc.

National Fibromyalgia and Chronic Pain Assoc.

National Fibromyalgia Assoc.

One thought on “Fibromyalgia Awareness Day May 12

Leave a Reply

