If it’s not one thing…

If it’s not one thing…

Well, I’m officially a 36 year old woman with high blood pressure already. WTF?! I didn’t even realize I had an issue until a couple of months ago. I had a stomach problem and I was becoming quite dehydrated so I went to the ER to get some IV fluids. At the time my pressure was high but I was also sick and dehydrated so I didn’t think much of it. I have a monitor here at home that I got after I had a bout with serotonin syndrome. I continued to monitor myself after the ER visit but it didn’t seem to change. I went to my family doctor and it was still a little high but it was something I could just keep an eye on. When I had my endoscopy done, the nurse asked if I had high  blood pressure. Even on their machines, I was still running high. So I’ve continued to keep my doctor updated and we’ve finally decided last week to try medication. I am hoping that this is only temporary. I used to be able to work out at the gym on a regular basis but between the ankle injury and work hours that had come to a halt. Thursday morning was the first time I had been to the gym since my foot surgery. I’m still doing physical therapy for at least the rest of December. So my new goal is to get back into the gym and get this under control so that I don’t have to be on this medication for long.

Leave a Reply

